Art of Sleepovers

I'm only 20 and I already miss the art of sleepovers.
Now if someone spends the night they usually come over around dinner and leave the next morning before lunch. Why oh why?

When I was little a sleepover was epic, awesome, the best thing that you could do that weekend.
It occupied hours upon hours of activities and things to do.
I remember having people come eat with my whole family and then me and my friend would stake out our territory. Furniture was moved and sleeping bags were arranged in optimum positions for watching TV later in the night (back when movies were on a VHS tape!)
Then the night was spent playing board games, video games, silly dress up, and everything else captivating enough for a kids attention. After sneaking upstairs after everyone else was asleep friends and I would grab tons of food and take it back down to eat all night while we watched movies. Time seemed to stretch out before us.

Sleeping in was glorious. 
and the best part about finally waking up was realizing that you had the whole entire day.
Rainy days meant entertainment inside and sunny days meant running around outside. Alllll day long.

I miss it. I want a real sleepover. One that takes all your energy and creates its own little world.
A sleepover that seems like it has lasted for days. Where you can't remember what you were even doing before that sleepover started. Were you spend time with a best friend and nothing else matters, you're still just a kid.
We may have DVD's instead of VHS, but that doesn't mean everything has to change.

Comments

Popular Posts